**disclaimer.
this is really more of a diary post. but I see this place as a kind of diary, so i want to put it here.
frankly, i really don't know where else to put it because i cant hold onto it anymore. i have to put it in a place. so, feel free not to read it. it's not a happy post. it's a sad post. it's my saddest most awfullest feelings put into words.
it's kind of raw; a compilation of various notes and entries.
one week
this has been my first experience with grief.
we've had deaths in the family, and i've cried at funerals, but after the actual service, not really.
i've felt sad about the deaths, but nothing like what I feel now.
i lived with her. for 12 years. lived with her.
fed her, hung out with her, took her for walks, watched tv with her, talked to her, looked at her, every day. EVERY DAY for 12 years. she was my friend.
we cared for her for her last 6 months like she was an invalid. watched her die, slowly, from old age.
what i feel now is true, honest to God, physically painful, GRIEF.
what is grief?
there is a hole in your heart.
breathing is difficult. eating seems unimportant.
every morning you wake up and REMEMBER: something is missing.
it's too quiet.
there is an entity that is not there.
a space that is now empty.
eyes that no longer look at you.
sounds that no longer exist.
two weeks.
you can't stop being sad about what happened, even though you want to.
you don't WANT to feel like this all the time.
but you can't figure out how to stop.
you can't be calling people at ten o'clock at night, just because you're sad.
they may have had a wonderful evening or are looking forward to tomorrow
and you're just sad. just trying to make it through at least one day without crying.
so, you're left sitting here, just feeling sad, all by yourself. and there's no one to tell.
because you feel guilty about puncturing their happiness with your sorrow.
of course, if you told these people how sad you are, they would say "yes, of course. of course you can call me . anytime".
the hard part, for the other person, is knowing what to say. there's nothing that can be said. not really. and that's what makes it so awful. you're caught between wanting someone to say nothing and something, anything, that will make you feel better, but there's nothing. what makes it so horrible is that you can't count on anyone to say anything to make you feel better. nothing said could possibly make you feel better in any way.
you really just want to hear another person's voice. you want them to talk to you about anything trivial that will distract you.
but then
anything trivial only reminds you of how non trivial you are feeling right now.
so you just don't call anyone.
you avoid people. avoid people who know.
who knew her and know what happened.
so you can avoid it even coming up in conversation.
please. just don't even say her name.
one month.
life becomes about getting better at tolerating life, but it's always there, lurking, waiting to make me cry. waiting to bring up all the emotions that remind me how much I miss her.
i don't want to leave the house because the car, the streets in our neighborhood, the store, everything reminds me of her. i see her everywhere.
and, of course, leaving means you have to come back. you have to come into the house that is so quiet and empty and she isn't going to run down the hall to greet you.
i feel guilty for grieving so much. i feel like it's been long enough. it's been a month. talking to other people about it, i feel like i'm infringing on their happiness or good mood. i feel like the other people are moving on faster than me. i don't want to be the weight that is dragging them back down when they're swimming to the surface. i don't want to be that person who keeps calling them whenever i'm sad. or bringing it up all the time, everyday.
i think that no one else is thinking about it as much as i am.
my whole life I've heard other people say "time heals all wounds, it gets easier with time." you know, stuff like that.
i've come to realize what this actually means.
it's not that IT gets easier, the loss; because a month in and it still feels just as unbelievable that they're gone and you still miss them just as much.
that doesn't diminish.
what gets easier is the ability to go out in public and deal with everyday things and people without bursting into tears.
what becomes easier is controlling your emotions
your sorrow
your pain
and not crying at the drop of a hat.
not bursting into tears when you finally make it to the safety of your car or a room in your house.
that moment when you find yourself alone and the sadness hits you like a truck and you have to let it out. so you cry while the shower is running or the music is blaring so no one will hear you.
being alone in the house is the worst. you know how you can feel a presence? well, you can feel an absence just as much. and the quiet is too loud. cats are quiet, off somewhere sleeping. and i'm just here. by myself. i used to love alone time. but now it's A LONE time. being alone is almost as emotionally overwhelming as going out there and dealing with the people.
it's been two months.
at this point it's the littlest things that get me.
commercials on dog biscuits
movies with story lines about people missing each other.
places we'd been together.
songs. songs i listened to. songs she liked. she loved neil young.
two months in and the grief is still there. the pain the loss the sadness, are all still there. hiding just below the surface of the smile on your face. it just becomes easier to control it and not express it so freely.
every minute though, it's still there.
people walking their dogs, talking about their dog, buying dog food. dogs on tv. pictures of dogs. every place in the house reminds me of her.
when i see the dogs out in public, i feel jealous. jealous of the people.
it's fall now and we haven't gone on any fall walks yet because it would mean going on a walk without her. we haven't even walked in the neighborhood at all since she died. even just driving through, on my way to some other place, i'm inundated with memories of spots she liked to sniff or street corners with her face.
some people understand and some don't.
i was telling someone the other day, someone I hadn't seen since she died, about the first week after and how horrible it was.
how, when i went to the store i just hated the people. couldn't explain why, just did.
i hated their small talk, their cheerfulness, their intolerance for daily trivial issues.
just everything. everything about them, everything they did, just irked me. i knew i wasn't ready to be out amongst them. with their pretending and their cheerfulness.
anyway, i was telling someone about that experience and i could tell they just didn't get it. the look on their face was pure astonishment that i could be sitting there telling them about hating the people.
i said, maybe you haven't experienced grief. true mind-blowing heartbreaking raw-emotion grief.
or you'd understand.
understand what i was feeling that day and understand that there's nothing to say that helps. it has nothing to do with whether god or jesus is a part of your life. it all hurts. ALL OF IT. every word that you say to try to make me feel better HURTS.
because there's nothing to say or do that will help or make me feel better. nothing.
almost three months
I've noticed another horrible phenomena. So, you know those people you see every few months? A neighbor, an acquaintance, etc? I don't know them well enough that I would've called them and told them and I didn't broadcast anything on social media. There really is no way for them to know that she died. But they know enough about me to know she existed and so they ask.
"How's Poppy doing?" they say. And I have to tell them. I have to stand there in the grocery store or in my front yard, or some other inappropriate place for sharing intimate details of your life, and tell them. Thankfully, I have not cried in front of anyone yet. I manage to control that little outburst.
Can you imagine? Crying in public like that? Exposing those emotions to someone you hardly know?
Sometimes they don't even mention it, they assume and so they say nothing. and I'm grateful for that. I'm grateful for them sparing me the awkwardness of telling the story and then then having to listen to their response. Both of us knowing that the words are ineffective at easing any sadness.