Those of you who know me may want to sit down. This little piece of info could be considered quite shocking and newsworthy.
I've been working out.
Yes, exercising.
I know, crazy.
Here's the story.
As most of you know ( or at least those of you who have been paying attention) I am a teacher. Being a teacher is one of the most difficult jobs on the planet and I deal with a lot of stress on a day to day basis. My manner of coping with the stress and overall job dislike was to have cocktail hour as soon as I got home every day.
Now, don't misunderstand me, I wasn't getting absolutely fabulous falling down wasted every night or anything, just a couple of beers to calm the nerves, unwind.
In addition, for years now, I've known that I should be exercising. I know it's good for you, healthy, blah blah blah, but I just never found the motivation. Over the years, I've attempted to find partners to work out with me thinking that perhaps this would encourage my desire to stick with it but some of them either backed out or were other teachers with schedules just as unpredictable as my own. Weeks turned into months, months to years, and before you know it, I'm 37 and participate in no regular form of exercise.
I finally had an honest conversation with myself. Why is this not happening? I examined my schedule and how I feel during the day. I recognized that when I got home, walked in the door, I lost ALL motivation to do anything but grab a cocktail and read my book. My weak point was being home. My self examination led me to the conclusion that I needed a class or some other form of organized fitness in order to make this happen. I was just not going to do it on my own ( hadn't 37 years of non- exercise proven this theory?)
Why now you ask? Well, recently, for the first time in my life, I've been hating my body. Well, let's just say disliked more than usual. I've never been particularly thrilled with what I've been given. I may be artistic but no one has ever accused me of being HOT. Cute maybe. Even pretty on a good hair day. But never HOT. In addition, I've been more and more inspired by my tall drink of hotness cousin and my miles running sister.
In general, I was unhappy with myself in the mirror. After all of the holiday goodies and casseroles, I'd reached the lowest point physically and I felt large and gross. Most of my pants had been busting at that top button for a few months; to the point where I had, on more than one occasion, shamefully, secretively unbuttoned the top button. Ugh!! So demeaning! I was starting to feel like a gross lethargic fat ass. I'd lost all sense of self pride.
As January first was drawing near, I decided to take advantage of this "Resolution " thing. I'd never really taken it very seriously. Not once have I ever made a resolution on January first. I am prone to quitting vices at various times of the year, not on the day when the world deems it typical. I set a goal for myself to exercise every day and only imbibe on the weekends.
So, with the exception of Wednesdays ( my jewelry class) and a couple of random nights when I had to work until 8 or 9 o'clock at night, I've gone to a yoga/ pilates class or got on one of the machines. I go straight there from from work, which is avoiding the whole " I'm too tired, I'll do it tomorrow" mentality. I walk out feeling so relieved of my stress, to the point where I completely forget the day's events and what work I have waiting for me the next day that I have been able to stick to the weekend only alcohol guideline.
I've been thoroughly enjoying the yoga classes. I even took off work a couple of Mondays ago because this really awesome instructor teaches a Monday Noon class. I must say, I've really impressed myself with what I've been able to accomplish on the yoga mat.
I'm noticing some definition in my legs, I've already lost five pounds, and the waistband on my pants isn't as uncomfortable. And today, the most amazing thing happened. I did my first Upward Facing Dog from a plank position! I've been unable to correctly maneuver this pose because I lack the upper arm strength, but today I did it! I almost shouted out in the middle of the class " I DID IT!"
I'm so proud.
1 comment:
yay! I'm so proud of you Christine:)
You are a hot piece of ass.
Post a Comment